The philosophy behind Plug In Hybrid cars

yes i know i wrote about this many times already but consider the following …

if you ask a child about meaning of life he will give you one answer … ask him again when he is a teenager and he will give another answer, then in his 20s, 30s, 40s, 60s and 80s he will again give a different answer every time …

i’m in my 4th year of driving a Plug-in Hybrid and my view is changing same as how my view of life is changing …

pictured: Volvo S60 T8 Recharge ( also the idiots didn’t fully close the charging door )

i also am a believer in making clean breaks with the past lines of thinking rather than living permanently as a slave to past mistakes … which is why i like to let old threads die and start new ones on the same subject … same as how in nature people die and a new generation is born so that humanity is not dragged down by accumulation of injuries and is instead allowed to refresh and renew …

so let’s start with the very beginning AGAIN like every generation has to start as a fetus …

a plug in hybrid ( PHEV = PlugIn Hybrid Electric Vehicle ) is a combination of regular hybrid and an electric vehicle. to understand it we must first understand those two parts that go into a PHEV individually.

in 1997 Toyota introduced the first commercially successful hybrid, the Prius.

pictured: the original Prius:

the basic motivation of the tech is that Combustion Engine Efficiency is lowest at low loads, and overall efficiency can be improved by turning the engine off at those low loads and driving in electric mode under low speed coasting conditions.

let’s look at BSFC or Brake Specific Fuel Consumption map for a typical good car engine below:

it can take a while to understand the graph but once you do it’s very clear. ( ask me if you don’t understand what the graph shows - and don’t worry about anything below horizontal axis / negative power / engine braking ).