Discourse software

This is the first time I have encountered Discourse software.

I’m used to the old PHP bulletin board forums of the past, and Xenforo’s about the best you can do with that.

Discourse is fast, has good aesthetics, and it has an intuitive UI. I thought to myself – I am a coder – there is no way this is written in PHP, PHP apps are always bloated. I looked and it is Ruby on Rails and JS.

I like the dark interface and it fits with the theme of this site. It will probably be slow for a while since it’s a new forum but if you want to interact with the masses you can always go to Twitter again.

Honestly I’m not compelled to do that yet – I agree I learned a lot on there but it’s much less interesting than before. They will probably even ban semi-controversial people like Chris Masterjohn eventually.

i like Discourse a lot.

I like that it’s open source but not free ( you pay for hosting ).

I like that they have a support forum where the founder of the company answers the questions himself ( well, used to )

you can host it yourself but that will only make it technically free as hosting will always have some costs associated with it and i would rather have it done by people who are the best at it.

https://www.communiteq.com/

communiteq is not affiliated with discourse but they have actually been hosting discourse since BEFORE discourse itself started to offer hosting …

hosting from discourse itself is pricey …

https://www.discourse.org/pricing

while researching the difference i came across a thread where basically communiteq and discourse were debating each other over whose hosting is best and it got into some pretty heavy details and to me that meant that they are comparable enough that for 1/5th the price communiteq will be good enough for me …